The Azores are a world to discover

Angra do Heroísmo

The 9 islands of the Azores Archipelago are so unique as a whole and, at the same time, so distinct that they deserve to be visited one by one. In fact, the Azores have a bit of everything any traveler is looking for.

More than a strategic position halfway between the American continent and Europe, the Azores are a place of feelings and inspiration, where the real can easily meet the mystic.


Sete Cidades


The Azores archipelago is divided into three groups: Eastern, Central and Western. In the Eastern Group are Santa Maria and São Miguel; in the Central Group there are five islands – Faial, Graciosa, Pico, São Jorge, and Terceira; and, finally, in the Western Group, we have the islands of Corvo and Flores.


Pico Island


Regardless of which island you visit, be it the tinniest, Corvo, with just 17 square kilometers for just over 400 inhabitants, or the largest, São Miguel, with 744 square kilometers and around 137,000 inhabitants, you’ll return with great lifetime memories.

The Azores are not just nature, so present, so bare, and raw, but also its people, its traditions, and its rich cuisine. And yet, the art, culture, History, and legends, such as the one that tells that these islands are the peaks of ancient Atlantis, submerged in the ocean and synonymous of a perfect world in symbiosis between nature and human beings. In fact, in the Azores, we are almost tempted to believe that this could be possible.

Travel between the islands can take place by air, on SATA Air Açores, or by sea, but there is one last recommendation: take some time to enjoy what each island has to offer. From a world heritage city to the highest mountain in Portugal. From the only island with golden sand, which contrasts so much with the black sand of all the others, to the imposing waterfalls.

Discover us!

Visit the official Tourism of the Azores website at